The Three Periods of the Mesozoic Era and Their Differences

David SilvaDino Fun FactsLeave a Comment

The Three Periods of the Mesozoic Era and Their Differences

The Mesozoic Era marks the period of Earth’s history when prehistoric reptiles ruled. This era contains three periods—Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous—and Earth underwent massive changes. This era occurred after the Paleozoic Era and before the Cenozoic Era. Uncover some fascinating differences about the three periods of the Mesozoic Era!

The Triassic Period

We begin our historical deep dive with the Triassic Period. Various mammal-like reptiles walked on Earth during this early stage of the Mesozoic Era, but they didn’t look like the dinosaurs we are so familiar with. By the end of this period, creatures evolved into the reptilian beasts we know and love.

Many creatures went extinct by the end of the Triassic Period, and volcanic activity increased in the Atlantic Ocean.

Some Dinosaurs of the Time

Some of the dinosaurs living around 237 to 201 million years ago include the following:

  • Herrerasaurus
  • Eoraptor
  • Mussaurus
  • Riojasaurus

The Eoraptor was among the first theropods to exist. Note that while many Triassic creatures went extinct, the ones that didn’t, including various dinosaur species, would evolve in the Jurassic Period.

The Jurassic Period

You’re probably familiar with the word “Jurassic” because of the iconic Jurassic Park movies. This time occurred 208–146 million years ago and was the peak reign of dinosaurs on Earth. Many people refer to this period as the Age of the Dinosaurs since it covers the time when dinosaurs thrived.

The Jurassic Period Pangea—Earth’s supercontinent—continued splitting apart as tectonic plates moved far beneath the crust. This movement officially began during the Triassic Period.

Some Dinosaurs of the Time

During the Age of the Dinosaurs, countless beasts ruled our planet. Here’s a list of some note-worthy beats:

  • Allosaurus
  • Hesperosaurus
  • Stegosaurus
  • Ceratosaurus

The Jurassic Period ended with various species going extinct as Earth and its remaining inhabitants evolved.

The Cretaceous Period

Our explanation of the three periods of the Mesozoic Era and their differences ends at the Cretaceous Period. This period marks the end of the Mesozoic Era and the life of the dinosaurs. Earth was very humid at this time, and there were no icecaps in the polar regions. We all know how this era ends: a massive meteor strikes Earth and obliterates countless organisms. Still, the Cretaceous Period lasted 79 million years!

Some Dinosaurs of the Time

By the end of the Mesozoic Era, many of the dinosaurs we recognize today came into existence, including the following:

  • T-Rex
  • Triceratops
  • Velociraptor
  • Ankylosaurus

By the end of the Cretaceous Period, most life on Earth went extinct, minus a select few that evolved into creatures we see today, such as birds!

Shop at Creative Beast Studio

If you love dinosaurs, shop at Creative Beast Studio for realistic-looking figurines of these beasts! You can shop our beasts of the Mesozoic ceratopsian series for dozens of ceratopsians. We ensure accuracy on all our models so every dino-lover can add the perfect beasts to their prehistoric collection!

Leave a Reply